The National Bank of Leesville, South Carolina

The National Bank of Leesville



Charter Number:



March 1908


September 1931

      Text coming soon

First President:

FH Hendrix

First Cashier:

HA Meetze

 Frederick Hampton Hendrix

6/06/1862 – Leesville, SC
3/24/1940 – Leesville, SC

F Hampton Hendrix was the first and only president of The First National Bank of Leesville.  He attended Washington & Lee University and was a graduate of the class of 1882.  He was a lifelong resident of Leesville and focused much of his life outside of the bank on county affairs related to education.  Hendrix was chairman of the board of trustees for Batesburg-Leesville High School for several years.  He also held the position of secretary-treasurer of Lexington County’s executive committee.

Henry Adam Meetze Jr.

b. 3/15/1872 Lexington, SC
d. 1/22/1956 Leesville, SC

    Henry Adam Meetze Jr. was the first and only cashier of The First National Bank of Leesville.  Mr. Meetze's professional career began with a position as a clerk and telegraph operator for the Southern Railroad in Batesburg.  He was also an accountant for Pacolet Mills and an accountant for a life insurance company in Columbia before he began what would be his lifelong profession.  In 1904 FH Hendrix personally recruited Meetze to be the cashier and accountant of the bank Mr. Hendrix was organizing as a state bank under the title The Bank of Leesville.  
    HA Meetze was still the cashier when the bank nationalized and he would hold that position all the way until the bank temporarily liquidated for the government banking holiday in 1931.  Henry Meetze steered the bank successfully through the rest of the great depression after the bank reopened in 1933.  In 1948 Meetze officially retired from the banking industry.

Other People Associated with the Bank: